Opening General Session

Monday, August 16
8:30 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center
Stars at Night Ballroom

Open to all conference attendees and exhibitors. Badge needed for admission.

Keynote Presentation

Admiral William H. McRaven, USN (Ret.)
Commander of U.S. Special Operations Command (2011-2014); Commander U.S. Joint Special Operations Command (2008-2011); Commander of U.S. Special Operations Command Europe and Director of NATO Special Operations Forces Coordination Centre (2006-2008); Chancellor of the University of Texas System (2015-2018)

Leadership and Risk Management: Taking Command

With his exceptional leadership experiences, Admiral William H. McRaven will explore today’s geopolitical environment and provide a look forward to America’s place in an ever-changing global community. He’ll dive into the necessity of preparation, order and discipline, knowing that they are not without a distinct and meaningful purpose or goal. He will share impactful narratives, lessons and insights on authority amidst turmoil and instability, the force of teamwork and personal initiative, resilience in the face of opposition, and the unconditional importance of never giving up.


Public Safety Awards Program Winners

Telecommunicator of the Year
Kathryn Schmelzer (2021)
Mark Nava (2020)
Sponsored by
Radio Frequency (RF) Technologist of the Year
Steve Morlan (2021)
Nick Condaras (2020)
Sponsored by
Information Technologist of the Year
Kevin Biegert (2021)
John Powers (2020)
Sponsored by
Trainer of the Year
Christine Law (2021)
Randy Dasho (2020)
Sponsored by
Line Supervisor of the Year
Deranecque Rogers (2021)
Jason Meeder (2020)
Sponsored by
Communications Center Director of the Year
Stephan Hooke (2021)
Jada Lee (2020)
Sponsored by
Team of the Year
METCOM 911, Woodburn, OR (2021)
Emergency Communications and Citizen Services

Virginia Beach, VA (2020)
Sponsored by

Technology Leadership Award Winners

Technology Leadership Award – Large Agency
Dekalb County Government E-911 Center (2021)
Missouri State Highway Patrol Communications Division (2020)
Technology Leadership Award – Small/Medium Agency
Chula Vista Police Department (2021)
Augusta 911 Emergency Communications Center (2020)

Read the press release


Opening General Session sponsored by


© 2024 APCO International. All Rights Reserved. | Privacy Policy
Facebook Twitter Flickr PSConnect Instagram